Rainbows!


Rainbow

A storm rolled through town tonight.  My family and I were watching my son at Tae Kwon Do.  Suddenly the rains came and the thunder struck.  I walked through the rain to pick my wife and children up at the curb.  A rainbow appeared as we were leaving the parking lot.  Driving home, every one in the van strained to see the colors in the sky.  That’s when I said, “God is telling us, ‘Hi.'”

Let me stop here.  For those of you who don’t know me personally, I never say weird things like that.  Typically, that kind of “Christianese” simply annoys me.  But for some reason, this time, it was different.

I was reminded of what God told us in Genesis 9:12-15…

Then God said, “I am giving you a sign of my covenant with you and with all living creatures, for all generations to come.  I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth.  When I send clouds over the earth, the rainbow will appear in the clouds, and I will remember my covenant with you and with all living creatures. Never again will the floodwaters destroy all life.

Somewhere along the way, rainbows became associated with different movements or stereotypes.

As a child of the ’80’s, I remember when liking rainbows made you a “girl.”

Rainbows were somehow linked with unicorns and Rainbow Brite.

Now in our modern era, the rainbow has become the proud symbol of the gay and lesbian community.  A flag waving with rainbow colors declares, “PRIDE.”

Yet, I stared into the colors of this rainbow.  Each color shining clear and bright.  A near, complete arch, stood proudly displayed in the sky.  A bold reminder that rainbows are not girlie.  They shouldn’t be linked with unicorns and fairies.  And it is far bigger than a community of people.  The rainbow stands alone as God’s promise to mankind.  A promise to never again flood and destroy all of humanity.

In all honesty, I don’t fully understand God’s mindset when it comes to the flood.  But there is one thing I know…the rainbow is His.

It is a symbol of mercy and grace.

It is a symbol of His covenant.

It’s God saying, “Hey, I’m still here.”

It is His.

I probably won’t stop and stare at every rainbow I see.  I won’t get “girlie” every time the rain comes and a rainbow appears.  I’m just not like that.  But for some reason, tonight was different.  God giving me a nudge.  A simple…

Hi, Stan.  My promise is still good.  They never fail.  I love you.

What do rainbows mean to you?

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 08/01/2011, in bible, God, journey, life, love, relationships, the world, worldview. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I’ll go along with you on this one Stan. What a great reminder of God’s faithfulness and covenant-keeping a rainbow is. Very good words today. Thanks.

  2. Thanks for this post…we are at the beach and saw a rainbow two nights ago. I have never seen one so big or complete, and now I know why I saw it. It was God saying “hi”! Thanks Stan

  3. Stan — I saw the rainbow you’re writing about and was also reminded of God’s faithfulness in keeping His promises. I took some photos of the rainbow and you can see them by going to my Facebook page (ronfurg). Wish I knew how to simply post them here but being techie challenged I’m at a loss for how to do it. Anyway, thanks for your insightful post. Not bad for a Husker. <

  4. To me it’s a reminder of God’s promise never to flowed the earth. Great reminder. Thank you for sharing.

  5. there is something transcendent about rainbows – I can remember a distinct few that connected me instantly with God.

  6. Lisa Arnold

    What if you saw a double rainbow? Would you ask what it means?

    Sorry. Couldn’t resist.

    Thanks for the post. I love God winks :)

  7. that was a beautiful blog post, man oh man
    I enjoyed
    http://ethicalfutures.wordpress.com

  8. Even though I’m I mom, I’m not particulary girlie either, but your post made me proud and brought a tear to my eye! God is amazing!!

Leave a comment