The Scary Part Of “Tomorrow!”


Once again this summer I am spending a week, sitting on the sand of Carolina Beach, North Carolina. I’m soaking up a lot of sun and family time. It has been a great week.

Last summer after our trip to the beach, I posted a series of three blogs about the lessons I was learning while at the beach. You can find those here or by searching for posts on, “Beach.”

This year I picked up a couple things as well. For instance, the danger of always saying, “Tomorrow,” or, “Maybe later.”

While swimming in the ocean, my sons said, “Dad, can we boogie board?”

“Of course,” was my reply.

“Hey Dad, can we have soda with our dinner?”

“Absolutely,” I would say.

“Dad, can I tell you about these facts I’m reading about in my book?”

“I’d love to hear them,” I would say.

But at home, too often the answer is, “Maybe tomorrow. I’m tired. I’ll get to you later. Maybe next week we can do that. No, you can’t have soda for supper.”

And before you know it, tomorrow becomes ten years and you aren’t sure where the time went. Then you live in regret because you missed some of your kid’s best moments.

So, yes, there is a danger in too many “tomorrows.”

Do you have a son you should be playing catch with? Do you have a daughter you should be having a tea party or playing Barbies with? Do you have a child you should be listening to because they have questions about something they read?

Did you just tell them, “In a minute,” because you just had to finish reading this blog? (I hope not.)

Try changing your answer and watch their eyes light up.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 07/15/2011, in family, fun, husbands, ideas, life, love, marriage, men, relationships, sacrifice, sports, the basics, the culture, wives, women. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. but for now, i have your blog to tell..life is indeed worth to live every moment.

  2. I said too many “tomorrows” or “maybe laters” to suit me. Now they are gone and I don’t have those tomorrows and laters. maybe that is why I allow my grandson to run me ragged when we are together. :)

    • =) I’m striving to keep my “tomorrows” and “laters” close to the vest. I fail at this a lot, but I’m striving to not let special moments slip away.

  3. A leader’s focus needs to be on today, which also means to take time for family. This is a challenge for me. But I have seen the benefits of taking the time on the things I value. Great point.

Leave a Reply

