9 Years!


When you say it like that, it seems like a long time.  I mean, nine years is a long time, right?  Nine is almost ten and ten is a decade.  A decade is a really long time, right?

If you start at zero it takes you an entire 3,285 days, 78,840 hours, 4,730,400 minutes, 283,824,000 seconds to get to nine years.  That’s a long time, right?

Surely that time goes by so slowly.  Every second, minute, month and year ticks by in an agonizingly, slow fashion.  You can’t get there fast enough, right?

Well, apparently not.  I mean, it was only last week when he was a tiny, newborn baby in my arms.

Newborn Grant

Then I blinked and this happened…

Grant at 9

What the what?

How?

Where did my more than 4 million minutes with him go?

How did 283 million seconds tick by so quickly?

Is this the feeling I’m supposed to have when the Bible tells me to, “take advantage of every opportunity?”

My son, you are so amazing!  You are growing up to be an exceptional young man.  I am blessed to have you in my life.  Thank you so much for making this journey special.  I love you with all my heart and will be here for you as long as I live.  I pray for you everyday and it is my deepest desire that you choose to live your life for Jesus Christ!

I love you, Grant Isaac (Great Laughter)!  Happy 9th Birthday!

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 05/18/2011, in family, God, husbands, Jesus, journey, life, love, relationships, the basics. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Reading this was an amazing way to end a wonderful day. I’m so thankful you are Grant’s dad. It did go by too fast, didn’t it?

  2. party at your place – there’d better be ice cream floats!

  3. If there is a party with ice cream, can I come? Congrats to Grant and congrats to you and Misty. (Good to hear from you also Stan).

    • Thanks, Bill. We did have a small party for a couple of his friends last night. There was a Lego cake and pizza. That was Grantster’s request. It was very good!

Leave a Reply

