Easter Traditions!


On Friday night, I called my kids up to the living room.  The only light in the room was candle light.  I read some Scripture (John 13) and talked about the night before Jesus was crucified.  Yes, I know Friday night isn’t the right night for that, but I had a late meeting on Thursday.

I told my three children about foot washing and what it means to be a servant to others.  Then I went around the room and washed all their feet.  Then, I washed my wife’s feet.  I didn’t expect it, but each of them took turns washing my feet.  It was a great experience and opened up some great conversation, at least from my two oldest children.

Then, I read to them about the Lord’s Supper from Matthew 26.  We talked about what the Lord’s Supper is and why we have communion each Sunday at church (Acts 20:7).  We had grape juice out and some crackers.  Some of you might not agree with my next move, but we talked about how communion reminds us of Jesus’ crucifixion and what He did for us.  Then we all drank some grape juice and at the crackers.  It was a special night and I wanted my kids to understand what communion is and who it is for.

Communion

Then, we went into the dining room to have supper.  It was a good segway into the next part of our evening.  After dinner, we made “empty tomb” cookies.  It’s actually amazing how they are hollow inside.  If you want the recipe, you’ll have to ask my wife.  We made them together and talked about different parts of the Easter story.  Smashing up walnuts we talked about how Jesus’ body was broken.  Putting some vinegar in the cookies we talked about how Jesus was offered vinegar to drink on the cross.  We added salt and talked about the salty taste of tears and the people who were crying when Jesus died.  It was really cool.  I’m hoping to make stuff like this a Rodda family tradition.

*On a side note, I even let my oldest son watch a few scenes from The Passion of the Christ.  I thought he was old enough to see a pretty accurate image of what the crucifixion was like.

I don’t remember a lot of Easter traditions in my family.  We probably had some, I’ve just forgotten (I know, I’m a bad son).  I’m looking forward to sharing cool moments like this each Easter with my family.  I pray it helps them develop a strong connection with how important Easter is and how it is much more than an Easter bunny and candy.

Does your family have any Easter traditions?

I’d love to hear them.

Please share in the comments.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 04/23/2011, in bible, discipleship, events, family, God, holidays, ideas, Jesus, life, relationships, story, the basics. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Brenda Wolfe

    Amazing, Stan! I wish I had the knowledge and creativity to do such a meaningful thing for the family at such an important time of year. We read the Easter story from Taylor’s bible tonight and I feel like sometimes I do not adequately answer their questions. But I am glad they are eager to listen and truly know the reason we celebrate in the first place.

    • Yep, take advantage of the eagerness to learn. That’s fantastic. Some of the ideas, Misty got from a magazine and we read a few things online as well. Let other people do the creative part for you. =)

  2. no Easter traditions – last Easter we were in London, our first easter together, and tomorrow we are just chillin’ out. good thought to start something though…

Leave a Reply

