Poke The Box!


I opened my mail today and found my own copy of Seth Godin’s latest release, “Poke The Box.”  It came from amazon.com a lot quicker than I thought it would.  I opened it and began to read.  Then I kept reading.  Then I read some more.  In between a couple of fights, dinner and bedtime, I read some more.  Before I knew it, I had read the entire, eighty-four page, manifesto in one sitting.  I absolutely consumed that book.  Just to keep it real, it was a fairly simple read.  However, the content was more than that.  It was a great challenge.  A challenge and a call to our generation to, “Go.”  A challenge to initiate.

In his New York Times article called, “They Weren’t Careful What They Hoped For,” Barnaby Feder used an early example of the term, “slacktivism.”  Slacktivism is defined as, “the desire people have to do something good without getting out of their chair (Feder 2002).”  In other words, we don’t lack the market to make a great change.  We don’t lack the world that needs great change.  We don’t lack the resources or the network.  We don’t lack the finances or even the avenues by which we can employ a great change.  What we lack is the initiative.

I once changed my Facebook profile picture to one with a pink ribbon on it for Breast Cancer Awareness month.

I post links on my Twitter and Facebook accounts that lead people to great articles and stories about grand causes.

I watch videos on YouTube that have to do with great causes and sometimes if I’m really motivated, I click the “thumbs up” button.

All of those things are good, but they don’t require any initiative to actually create a change in the world.  There must be more.  In fact, there has to be more.  Now, I need to actually DO something with what I know.

I haven’t blogged in quite awhile, but I will try to post more of my thoughts on this book soon.  For now, I will leave you with one of the quotes from the second page of the book.

Imagine that the world had no middlemen, no publishers, no bosses, no HR folks, no one telling you what you couldn’t do.  If you lived in that world, what would you do?  Go.  Do that.

So, what would you do?

Poke The Box

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 03/04/2011, in books, God, pastors, polls, qotd, resources, social media, social settings, the basics, the culture, the nation, the world. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I am new to your site via Jonathan Pearson’s blog. I enjoyed the post. I have heard a lot about the book recently so I am going to pick up a copy. Regarding your question, the one thing I know I am called to do is bring awareness to the reality of people can overcome their addictive lifestyles. I work for BC Teen Challenge and I am so honored to walk with the men who are looking for life change. Thanks again for sharing this post.

    • So glad you stopped by, Sean. I’m new to Jonathan Pearson’s blog as well. Sounds like you have a great calling. There is a huge need for that in our world. Keep up the great work.

  2. Can’t say I have even given that a thought Stan. Reckon it will be a good things to ponder (if I can stick to it enough to figure it out). Looking forward to reading more. BTW: welcome back.

    • Thanks, Bill. I have a lot of thoughts that I want to blog about, but I haven’t had the time nor the creativity it feels like to put it on “paper.” I’ll keep working on it.

  3. I def want to read this. I am certainly not perfect but I’m of the school if u don’t like something, fix it. I volunteer frequently because of that. There are bigger/more worldly examples but a minor one is my HOA. We have an HOA intranet. I’m leading the group to redesign it because it stinks. I have so many people complain about it but when I say “hey can you come to a meeting or two to help some?” they immediately have many excuses.

    We can all read/post/complain but Rosa Parks wouldn’t be famous if she simply wrote a letter about not sitting on the back of the bus… We all need to get up and sit in the front of the bus for change to happen. :-)

    I’m 100% with Seth.

    • Good analogy, Christie. I’ll point it out later in more detail, but he mentions that these changes don’t have to be big enough to fit into Wall Street or be a Fortune 500 idea. Taking initiative can be as simple as helping someone with a tray at a restaurant. Not because you will get anything in return, but because we need to take initiative. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I’ve heard oodles about Seth Godin – all glowing reviews. Is he a Christian? It won’t change anything of course, but I’ve only heard about him from other Christians and I’m curious if he is simply a motivational speaker type or if he has a spiritual side. Sorry it’s an off topic question!

Leave a Reply

