Thanksgiving!


Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  I wanted to post some of the things I am thankful for today.  Seems like an appropriate day for it.Turkey

  • I’m thankful for the first person who saw this bird, and thought to themselves, “I bet, after a few hours in an oven, that is one tasty bird.”
  • I’m thankful for a country that lets me eat turkey if I want to.
  • I’m thankful for being able to watch football and eat turkey at the same time.
  • I’m thankful for toilet paper.
  • I’m thankful for toothpaste.
  • I’m thankful for a home that has heat in the winter.
  • I’m thankful for good friends to share an amazing dinner with.
  • I’m thankful for a family that constantly helps me to grow and become a better man.
  • I’m thankful for a wife who loves me and allows me to be the man God has created me to be.
  • I’m thankful for an amazing staff team to work with at New Life Christian Church.
  • I’m thankful for a healthy church that is striving together to accomplish God’s mission on earth.
  • I’m thankful for mentors who have taken time to pour life experience into me.
  • I’m thankful for a faith that goes beyond religious legalism and manipulation.
  • I’m thankful that God is bigger than my faults and mistakes.
  • I’m thankful for His grace.
  • I’m thankful for His mission.
  • I’m thankful that He has invited me to be a part of His work.

I have so much to be thankful for.  I’m sure I could make this list go on forever.  There’s so much to be thankful for in our world.  So my question for you is; what are you thankful for?  You don’t have to leave an exhaustive list, but maybe your top 2 or 3.  As consumerism knocks at the door of taking over the next 30 days or so of our lives, let’s use this day to slow down and keep a proper perspective on the things that really count in our lives.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 11/25/2010, in God, holidays, marriage, relationships, the basics, the culture, the nation. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m thankful that I live in a country where I am free…freedom of speech, freedom to worship God…and I am SO thankful for our military personnel who protect our freedoms at great sacrifice to themselves and their families.

  2. Things are happening in my life that I have been fighting for a long time and right now I’m humbled and most thankful for God not giving up on me when I gave up on him! This time last year, I wasn’t sure if I was cut out for this life. I have new purpose, and feel truly blessed!

    • Jaime, that’s fantastic. I love hearing stories like that. I have been in a similar place before. I’m so glad God has made Himself very evident in your life and given you a fresh view of His purpose for you. =) That’s awesome stuff.

  1. Pingback: Friends Worksheet

Leave a Reply

