Who’s Building The House?


One of the things I have been praying about recently is that God would show me what He wants to do with His church.  In my specific case, His campus.  My prayer has been simple; “God, who do you want us to be?  What do You want us to accomplish?  What can we do to bring You glory?”Traditional Church Building

As I was doing some reading and studying to try and prepare myself for what God might say, I found my way to 2 Samuel 7.  This was a big deal to me because for so long, I have been making the same mistake as David.  Prior to verse 5, David makes an assumption that he will be the one to build God a big, beautiful house.  He assumes that his plan is right and that God will bless it.  In fact, he was so confident, he told the prophet of God, Nathan, about his plan.  David has decided that because he lives in such a beautiful palace, there’s no reason why God should dwell in a tent.  He wants to build God’s house.

So often I have prayed that way.  Have you?  I have prayed, “God, bless what I’m doing.  We’re doing ‘this’ ministry, bless it.  Make it work for You.  I’ve read the demographics.  I’ve done the research.  I’ve prepped the team.  Please bless our efforts, so that You get the glory.”

We make the same mistake that David made.  He wanted God to bless his plans with the ulterior motive of bringing God glory.  He justified making his own plans by assuming God wanted his plan.  The church as a whole is in the middle of something similar.  Should we be attractional (let’s do a bunch of big events)?  Should we be missional (let’s have church in a coffee house)?  Can attractional and missional be blended?  Maybe we should be more traditional?  Maybe we should start house churches?  The internet and technology are there.  Let’s launch an internet church.  Or should we do video church?  So many questions, so little time.  So many “houses” to build.

Starbucks SpiritualityI believe those questions must be answered.  I believe those questions are legit and shouldn’t be ignored.

Here’s where I believe we get hung up.  2 Samuel 7:5 says, “Go and tell my servant David, `This is what the Lord has declared: Are you the one to build a house for me to live in?'”  In other words, we often think we are the ones with the master plan.  We read the books, go to the conferences and even wear the right clothes.  We begin to believe that we have the plan.  We will build God’s house.  We will make His name great.  He will bless our efforts.

That’s when we must hear the voice of God saying to us, “Are you really the one to build a house for me?”  God says, I have this planned out.  I know what I want my house to look like.  And I even know who I want to build the thing.  Our mistake is not that we work hard for God, our mistake is that we look to the wrong source for the plan.

How much different would church be if every single follower of Christ and church leader, went to God to find out what God wanted?

What if we asked God His opinion before we start to build?

How much greater would the effectiveness of the church be if “we” weren’t building God’s house, but we were allowing God to do the building?

How much stronger would the church be if church leaders and pastors were humbling themselves under the hand of God?  Fasting and praying for His lead?  Waiting on God to make the first move?  How much stronger would we be?

The question I want to ask you is this, “Who’s building the house?”

Are you building and hoping God blesses your plans?

Or are you allowing God to lead the way and working where He blesses.

Thoughts?

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 08/23/2010, in church, church planting, disciplines, God, internet, leadership, marketing, missional communities, music and entertainment, outreach, pastors, relationships, social media, social settings, technology, the basics, the culture, the nation, video. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This one sort of hits home. We are in the process of moving to our first permanent “home” with a recent acquisition of a building and some property. It is a scary prospect and it happened really fast. (We had a man in the church who fronted all the money so we didn’t have the red tape). I kept praying to “know what God wants.” But I also know the church is not the building and it takes preparing the people for the move-their hearts and minds. My focus right now is on Matthew 7:24-27 and also the Scriptures that deal with Solomon’s prayer and dedication of the Temple. I love 2 Chron.6:18-19. Good thots today Stan.

  2. This was great and as one of the “leaders” I really have to be honest and say that I hadn’t thought about the fact that God already has a plan for our campus. I know I hear His voice in certainy ministries I am involved in but I haven’t considered going to Him and asking “What do you have already built for us, show us please”. Great thoughts Stan and I will be changing my focus…

  3. roddafamily5

    I read a quote last week that fit well with this topic:

    “Stop asking God to bless what you’re doing. Get involved in what God is doing–because it’s already blessed.” ~Bono

    The whole idea that God has good planned just for me to do, is humbling. And on a larger scale, He already has good works planned for our church family as well. Huge honor and huge responsibility. Now we just have to learn to hear His voice over the other voices!

Leave a Reply

