Chocolate Covered Duh!


It’s amazing how far we will go to find purpose.  It’s amazing where we will look to find answers for this life.  Inside each of us is a struggle to find answers to spiritual things.  Don’t believe me?  Just look around you.  Look at all the different worldviews that are available for consumption.  Look at the book titles that vie for your attention and offer answers.  Look at the many faiths that offer fulfillment and purpose for your life.  We are in a struggle, a spiritual struggle.

Ephesians 6:12 (NLT) – “For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.”

Our world is seeking answers to spiritual things.  And it’s a battle.

The one that has been driving me most crazy recently, are horoscopes.

Aren’t they cute?  I mean, you can get them in a facebook app and everything.  You can find them in a newspaper or your favorite magazine.  Leo, Sagittarius and Capricorn, they are pop-culture icons that are being embraced by many as an answer to life’s daily questions.  If only I look out for this particular relationship, or if I really stand up for myself today, then everything will be okay.  Thanks horoscope.  You were always there for me.  I can even get my own Personal Astrology Profile.  I can find what makes me truly unique based on how the planets were aligned at the exact moment of my birth.

Horoscopes/Astrology aren’t just a cute fun thing to help us get through the day.  At the core of the philosophy, there is a search for purpose and meaning.  There is a search for spiritual answers to life.  There is a search for something greater, something bigger than us.

But if I’m really going to find the purpose for my life, I must find the One who created my life.  I can’t find the purpose for my Rolls Royce (I don’t actually have a Rolls Royce) at the corner, 7-Eleven.  That convenience store can’t provide for me anything that will help discover an answer to a Rolls Royce problem.  The true purpose and understanding of the way a Rolls Royce works must come from those who created it.  I must find the answers to who I am, my purpose, why I am on this earth, from the One who created me.  These answers must come from God.

And this is why it’s a spiritual battle.

Not to mention the obvious reason why horoscopes are a waste of time.  Here is my horoscope for today, April 14th, 2010;

Your social energy is drawing the right people to you today, and it should be pretty straightforward — though one of the newer people in your life may spin your head with a bright idea!

This is about as vague as a Chinese fortune cookie.  There is nothing specific here for me.  It is common sense that two heads are better than one.  One person can have a bright idea, but put two or three people together to brainstorm on a topic and the result will be far greater than any one person can come up with alone.  This is not new information, you’re just retelling me what I already know.  I won’t be surprised if my horoscope some day says, “Don’t point a loaded gun at your face and pull the trigger.  The results could be deadly.”

What?  No way.  Guess what my horoscope said today.

The sin, yes I said the “s” word, of horoscopes is not that they’re cute or try to get people through the day, but that they distract us from the One who created us for a purpose.  They turn our attention away from the God who loves us and designed us to accomplish incredible things.  Anything that turns our attention away from God is a form of idolatry and the Bible calls idolatry, sin.

Are you a follower of Christ?  Are you on a search through spiritual things?  Are you undecided about what “the answer” is?  I want to encourage you to seek God.  To find answers in Him.  To come to a complete understanding that spiritual answers in this life can only come from the One who created us.  Rolls Royce manuals aren’t found at 7-Eleven.  Our purpose can’t be found in anything less than the One who created us and knows exactly what our purpose is.

Jeremiah 29:11 (MSG) – “I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.”

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 04/14/2010, in church, discipleship, social settings, the basics, the culture, the nation, the world, world faiths, worldview. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Fantastic post! heck, I don’t even know my sign let alone mess with reading a bunch of garbage. Glad you also mentioned the “s” word. So many think they are just a harmless game to play. I believe they are a tool of the enemy.

  2. This is awesome. I get so sick of the FB apps that show people’s horoscope or their “Daily Luck” percentage. Thanks for this post.

  3. Not to mention consulting spiritists and mediums was a stoning offense in the Old Testament.

  4. My husband loves to read what I call HORRORscopes. I point out to him that the writers of these use a revolving door method (absolutely true!).

    A writer will go back to a particular month for some random year and pick a sign, then copy that horrorscope for some randomly picked signs. It is so true! I heard about this method from someone who worked at a paper and it is most often used by the editor when the horrorscope “writer” is going on vacation. Crazy!

    I agree with you. Stick with what God says:

    “And do not let your people practice fortune-telling, or use sorcery, or interpret omens, or engage in witchcraft, or cast spells, or function as mediums or psychics, or call forth the spirits of the dead. Anyone who does these things is detestable to the Lord.” (Dt 18:10-12 NLT)

    Woah.

  5. People think they are harmless, but I really believe they open the door and let Satan get a foothold. We need to be serious about the reality of spiritual warfare! Thanks for the post.

  6. Stan, I completely agree. I think too often, people try to find the answer to life through horoscopes, 1-900 numbers, mediums, and so on. God is the one that brings meaning to our lives not a horoscope. Thankfully, I haven’t ever been in to the whole horoscope thing. Besides, if horoscopes were really accurate, why would I want to know everything that is going to happen in my life now? I rather let life surprise me with another adventure.:-)

  7. Great post. It seems like such a let down when facebook friends who put out “Chrisianese” status updates also send their horoscopes. There is definitely a disconnect there and it just feels dirty. If my creator God is working in me today do I need to know what the astrology gods have to say? It is a battle. If believers feel this what kind of witness are we showing to those seeking spirituality? A confusing battle. Harmless or deadly?
    Thanks

  8. Yeah, I thought about posting on my facebook page the other day, where a lot of our church people are at, and letting everyone know what I thought about horoscopes. I say that because some of my key folks like to participate in it. Really!?

    Not only is it nonsense but it is Idol worship and demonic.

    It’s more like chocolate covered crap…

    Thanks for bringing it up and letting me vent :).

Leave a Reply

