Exciting News!


There is some very exciting news that I want to share with the readers of Cultural Awakening.  My family and I are about to begin a new chapter in our lives.  We have accepted a Campus Pastor position at New Life Christian Church in Virginia.  We currently lead the Petersburg Church of Christ in Illinois.  This will be a huge change for us but one that we are very ready for and can’t wait to tackle.

For those of you who would like to know more, please continue reading.  New Life Christian Church is a church planting church.  They seek to be a church for the unchurched.  They are a multi-site church.  A multi-site church is one church that meets in different locations.  They currently have three campus that meet in Haymarket, Centerville and McLean, Virginia.  My wife and I will be transitioning in to the Haymarket campus.  Haymarket is located about an hour or hour and a half directly west of D.C.  The main campus is in Centerville.  The church has a total attendance of nearly 1000 people and the Haymarket campus is running 180.

Not only is this an incredible opportunity for us to take on a new challenge, it also presents a very exciting future for us.  For six or seven years, my heart has been leaning toward church planting.  This is an added benefit to working with New Life.  As a church planting church, I have committed 5-7 years of being on staff with them.  While I am there, I will have the opportunity to learn about church planting and to get connected with many church planting organizations.  In 5-7 years, my wife and I will have the opportunity to plant a church.  Just writing that sentence gives me chills.  I couldn’t be more stoked about this opportunity.

I want to send out a message of love and encouragement to my family in Petersburg, the people at the Church of Christ.  You have been my spiritual family for a little over five years.  I am so happy that God has allowed our paths to cross, even if it feels like it was for just a short time.  I want to encourage you to keep loving people as Jesus did.

Never stop loving them.

Never stop giving to them.

Never stop giving of yourselves.

Pour yourselves into the ministry and life of Petersburg.

It is on your backs that PCOC is able to do so many of the wonderful things that it does.  I have been privileged to be a part of it.

There is probably even more to share.  More details, small things that I have forgotten.  I would be happy to talk with any of you more about this opportunity.  Feel free to comment me on this blog, on facebook, twitter or email.  I look forward to hearing from you.

If you are interested in praying for us, I have a couple of things that we are praying for as well.  We are praying for our house to sell quickly.  Most people complain about the market or economy, but I’m still pretty sure God is bigger than the economy.  We have specifically prayed that God would bring around the right buyer at the right time.  We are also praying for our church family here, that they will be strong and be able to continue working hard for God here in Petersburg.  We are also praying for a smooth transition to New Life.  That includes everything from our move, to settling down in Virginia and getting started in the work there.  Please keep us in your prayers.

There are many mixed emotions, but ultimately this is a door that God has opened to us and we are so excited for the opportunity to be a part of New Life.  Thanks everyone for reading Cultural Awakening and I’ll try to keep you all posted as to updates here as well as a whole new perspective from the East Coast.

Grace and Peace,

Stan

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 10/08/2009, in church, discipleship, evangelism, family, leadership, the basics. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Robin Wheaton

    I still can’t find the words to express what you and your family have meant to me in the short time I’ve known you. For whatever reason…I’m sure it was a God-thing…I felt a closeness to you and Misty from the beginning. You are truly amazing people, raising 3 truly amazing little people! I’m going to miss you ..which goes without saying..but I know what an incredible opportunity this is for you. You wouldn’t go if it weren’t. I look forward to hearing all the exciting things you’ll be doing.
    You and your family have touched my life, changed my life, in ways that I’m not sure I even fully understand. I’m just thankful that God put you in my path.

  2. rock n roll! Are you going to be preaching or do you guys watch a sermon with the other campuses?

  3. Good for you! Change is good…I think this will be a great opportunity for you guys!!

  4. Stan,

    Wow… what an amazing opportunity you all have been given. Having grown up in a church-planters home, and having been part of 5 plants I know firsthand the excitement that comes from beginning a new work from the ground up. M4C the church I serve has transitioned from a “plant” to a “sustained/growing” congregation and it’s been amazing to see how God’s working to bring his plan for the ages into being. I’m excited for you and Misty and the kids as you begin this new chapter in your life and ministry. You all will be in my thoughts and prayers as you make this transition. God is good and I know that he’s used you all in a great way there in Petersburg and that He’s going to do the same for you and with you in this new adventure… Keep us updated on your transition

    blessings & peace

    Jim

    http://therefinersfire.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

