Book Suggestions!


I am constantly on the hunt for good books to read.  Most of the books I read have to do with church work, leadership and how it relates to the culture.  I want to know what you read.  Who is your favorite author?  What type of books are your favorite?  Read a good book lately?  Tell me about it in a comment and I’ll go check it out.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 07/13/2009, in church, discipleship, leadership, marketing, polls, the basics, the culture, the world. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Personally I am a Stephen King fan, but right now I am reading “Always looking up” by Michael J. Fox… it is very inspiring.

  2. refinersfire2

    Stan, like you I am always on the hunt for a good read. The book that I just finished was “The Century of the Holy Spirit,” by Vinson Synan. It tells of the start and spread of the Charismatic/Pentecostal movement over the past 100 years. It’s a great read, if you want to understand the basis of the movement. Though it gets dry in spots, I found the information invaluable. On the topics of ministry, one of my favorite writers is Reggie McNeal, (“The Present Future,” and “A Work of Heart”) though I have some theological disagreements with him; his insight has been very useful to me. I also try to read most everything I can on the emergent/emerging church movement. Though I have some serious issues with the movement I like to keep informed on its direction and methodology. On the reading for enjoyment side of things (which I don’t get to do very often) my favorites include Ted Dekker, Tom Clancy, and W.E.B. Griffin

  3. I just finished reading Tommyland, the autobiography of Tommy Lee. I wouldn’t recommend it for people who are easily offended because most of it is grossly inappropriate but I thought it was fantastic! I realized I had a lot of presuppositions and judgements about him based on what I had seen in the media and it was cool to hear the other, less-sensational side of things… he is definitely one of the most fascinating people I’ve ever read about! Definitely worth the read for someone grown up enough to handle someone honestly telling their story.

    • culturalawakening

      Cool Ryan. I haven’t gotten into autobiographies much, but really would like to. I’ll check into that one for sure.

  4. Most of my reading over the last year has been on military leadership, tactics or Afganistan. One book of more general interest is On Killing by Lt. Col. Dave Grossman. In it, Grossman discusses his unprecedented research into factors that enable killing, looks at responses to killing, and ties his military-oriented research to existing cultural influences. The last chapter talks about how we are desensitizing Western youth to killing without the authority structure and other restraints present in a military situation.

    An encouraging book was Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper. I got it from a chaplain. It didn’t have any mind-blowing revelations, but it was good to help refocus.

    As far as generalizations, my favorite genre is investigative journalism and so Eric Schlosser is probably my favorite author! The worst books are religious books/devotionals written for Marines/soldiers.

  5. I’ve been finding it harder and harder to find original books lately man. Seems like everyone these days is repackaging the same rhetoric that others found success in…or dumping a poorly written sermon series into 200 pages of fluff.

    A good little book though is called “Tribes” by Seth Godin. It’s all about why people need you to lead them. Seth is the founder of Squidoo.com and an internet marketing genius (his book Purple Cow is awesome).

    Another one I read recently is called “Generating Buy-In” by Mark Walton … a big shock here, but it’s about getting people to buy-in to you and your message :)

    Neither are written for church leaders…but the principles are applicable nonetheless.

    As for Christian sector reading, “The Rabbit and the Elephant” by Barna and Dale is pretty interesting. I don’t think it applies to the rural setting church, but it makes sense in the urban setting. Basically stating the small churches can be more effective than big churches because they can multiply faster (Rabbits breed… well…like rabbits…but bigger mammals take longer to do the nasty — that’s my clif notes version :)

  6. Just finished reading Forgotten God by Francis Chan (reviewed at http://billgrandi.ovcf.org/wordpress/?p=2676) and also Death By letter by mark Driscoll. Also was moved by Servolution. In the process of ordering several from Amazon and waiting for them.

Leave a Reply

