Let’s Get Started!


I guess the most logical place to start a blog is by introducing myself and what I intend to do with this blog space.  My name is Stan Rodda and I am a follower of the teachings of Christ.  I firmly believe that the church (when done properly and scripturally) can be and is designed to be the very avenue by which God interacts with His creation.  Traditional definition of church will lead many to disagree with that statement, thinking that God doesn’t just interact with His creation in a building on Sunday morning.  I agree with this assessment.  I do not believe in the traditional definition of church.  I believe that the church is made up of people from all walks of life, nationalities, genders & race.  This group of people that God calls the church can be used by God to interact with the world and to share the grace of God with humanity.

In my humble opinion, the church (people who claim to follow Christ) have done a poor job being the church in our world.  Often times we have misrepresented Christ in terrible ways (AKA- the Crusades).  The church must wake up and realize what is going on in the culture around them.  When we awaken to the reality of what is really going on in God’s world, I believe we will be better equipped to make a positive impact on it.  I intend to use this blog as an opportunity for Christ followers from many backgrounds to come and share their experiences with the culture.  For churches around the world to share ideas and encouragement.  And even a place for people who wouldn’t classify themselves as followers of Christ, to come and share their stories as well.

The Apostle Paul is a great example for this.  He taught us to be aware of the world and people around us, and to use those opportunities to share Christ with our culture.  He said in 1 Corinthians 9:20, 22- “To the Jews I became as a Jew, so that I might win Jews…To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak, I have become all things to all men so that I may by all mean save one.”  If the church doesn’t have an awakening to the culture around them, we will continue to suffer in our mediocrity and ineffectiveness.  It’s time for the church to experience a Cultural Awakening.

About Stan Rodda

Follower. Husband. Father. Shepherd. Apostle. Husker.

Posted on 04/14/2009, in the basics. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. what are some way you think the church can do better at being the church on our world?

    interesting thoughts…
    “I believe that the church is made up of people from all walks of life, nationalities, genders & race”

    i read you saying the church is made up of different people, but do you believe the church is made up of different people believing different things? or is that the only thing that defines it as church – what the group of people say they believe?

    you also mention the group of people God calls “church”… what does that look like?

    there is so much baggage attached with the word church… i am just looking for more explanation… are you speaking of the church universal, or the local community or both?

    do we need to get better at understanding and accepting the culture, or get better at engaging or attacking our culture where it conflicts with Christian belief?

  2. culturalawakening

    Wow Jesse! Thanks for letting me get broken in the easy way. ha ha

    I will say right now, with 100% certainty, that I do not have all the answers. I am looking to open up a dialogue where anyone can come to discuss different topics surrounding the culture and the church. I will probably have more questions than answers.

    Allow me to try and answer some of what you have already asked about. I think the church could do a better job within the culture first by simply getting to know the culture. Many churches believe that if they just keep doing church 1950’s style, then the 1950’s will eventually come back and that everything will be fine. They simply are not with the rest of the culture. Within the church are many different types of people. Some of them have different beliefs surrounding specific theological issues, but at the core of who they are, they are followers of Christ and are attempting to live according to His standard. The church looks like a group of people, who are committing their lives to the teachings of Christ. They use their influence to impact their communities in a positive way so that Jesus Christ can be seen in us. The church is and should be, living out the example of Christ. The church should be leading the way in proclaiming freedom to the oppressed, in feeding the hungry, in sharing the good news with the poor. All these things that impact our world in a positive way should be done in and with the culture, not despite or aside from it. The church I’m speaking of is the universal church. And yes, we need a better understanding of the culture, so that while we accept what it is, we also need to realize that we are not separate from the culture. We often act as if we are somehow above the culture and they need to come up to us. We are the culture because we are living in it. So understanding it and impacting it from within for Christ is what I believe we should be aiming at. I’m definitely not in favor of attacking the culture. That doesn’t seem to be the way Jesus did it, nor any of the Apostles.

    Wow! That is probably a sub-par answer. Your questions are great. I hope that is a sign of what type of dialogue this blog could open up. Keep on me man. I have a lot to learn as well.

Leave a Reply

